You are an author or publisher

You are an author or publisher

 

Reprobel does not collect the fees for itself but for the rightholders on whose behalf it acts.

 

If you are an author or publisher, you are entitled to your share of these fees. An author is the natural person (i.e. not a legal entity such as a company) who created or co-created the copyrighted work (e.g. in the case of a writing team or a comic strip). It may also concern the heirs of a deceased author. The Publishers College of Reprobel uses the following definition of a publisher: “the natural or legal persons who, within the framework of a professional activity and through an organised corporate structure, invest in authors’ works, who prepare and produce these works for publication, who are responsible for their publication, exploitation, marketing and distribution and who may assert specific rights (including remuneration rights) to these works by virtue of the law, a transfer or licence”.

 

You can claim your remunerations by joining the member collective management organisation of Reprobel that most closely matches your activities as an author or publisher. A list of collective management organisations of authors and publishers can be found here. Collective management organiations not only ensure that you receive the Reprobel remunerations to which you are entitled; they also offer interesting additional services (e.g. legal advice) and in some cases also manage other copyrights for you.

 

Under legal remuneration schemes and additional licences, you as rightholder, can also receive remunerations individually and directly from Reprobel. In that case, you are a ‘non-affiliated rightholder’. Reprobel’s organic documents regulate in detail how you can do this. In that case, Reprobel does not calculate the remuneration. This is done by one of its member collective management organisations (the “reference collective management organisation”), appointed by the Authors College or the Publishers College of Reprobel. The reference collective management organisation may charge you a management fee for this.

 

If you would like to receive remunerations from Reprobel as a non-affiliated rightholder, please contact dco@reprobel.be.

Vous êtes auteur ou éditeur ?

Vous êtes auteur ou éditeur ?

 

Reprobel perçoit les rémunérations non pas pour elle-même mais pour les ayants droit pour le compte desquels elle agit.

 

Si vous êtes auteur ou éditeur, vous pouvez revendiquer votre part de ces rémunérations. Un auteur est la personne physique (et non une personne morale telle qu’une société) qui a créé ou co-créé l’œuvre protégée par le droit d’auteur (par exemple, avec une équipe d’auteurs ou une bande dessinée). Il peut également s’agir des héritiers d’un auteur décédé. Le collège des éditeurs de Reprobel utilise la définition suivante d’un éditeur : ” les personnes physiques ou morales qui, dans le cadre d’une activité professionnelle et via une structure d’entreprise organisée, investissent dans des œuvres d’auteurs, qui rendent ces œuvres prêtes à être publiée et les produisent, qui se chargent de l’édition, de l’exploitation, de la commercialisation et de la diffusion de celles-ci et qui, sur la base de la loi, d’une cession ou d’une licence, peuvent faire valoir certains droits sur ces œuvres (y compris les droits à rémunération”.

 

Vous pouvez revendiquer vos rémunérations en adhérant à la société de gestion membre de Reprobel la plus proche de vos activités d’auteur ou d’éditeur. Une liste des sociétés de gestion d’auteurs et d’éditeurs se trouve ici. Les sociétés de gestion veillent non seulement à ce que vous perceviez les rémunérations Reprobel auxquelles vous avez droit, mais elles vous proposent également des services complémentaires intéressants (par exemple des conseils juridiques) et, dans certains cas, gèrent également d’autres droits d’auteur pour vous.

 

Dans le cadre des règlements légaux de rémunération, vous pouvez, en tant qu’ayant droit, également recevoir une rémunération individuelle et directe de Reprobel. Dans ce cas, vous êtes un “ayant droit non adhérent”. Les documents organiques de Reprobel fournissent des informations détaillées sur la manière d’y parvenir. Reprobel ne calcule toutefois pas la rémunération elle-même. Ce calcul est fait par l’une de ses sociétés de gestion membres (la ” société de gestion de référence “), désignée par le collège des auteurs ou le collège des éditeurs de Reprobel. La société de gestion de référence peut vous facturer des frais de gestion à cet effet.

 

Si, en tant qu’ayant droit non adhérent, vous souhaitez recevoir des rémunérations de Reprobel, veuillez contacter dco@reprobel.be .